The nearby tab shows your friends who are nearby, your friends who are nearby and available, and relevant nearby information — such as active meetups.
From the nearby tab you can also control your availability.
Your availability tells your friends whether or not you're available to socialise and meet up.
To become available just turn the 'availability switch' on. You will be presented with a couple options:
This helps communicate what you're in the mood to do with your friends through the use of emoji.
This lets you choose which groups will see your availability.
All Friends - This will share your availability with all your friends.
Favourites - This will only share your availability with all your friends you have marked as a 'favourite'.
Public - This will share your availability with all your friends and on your public profile through the discover tab and check-ins.
The friends tab shows you an overview of all your friends and their current locations.
Tapping on a friend from the Nearby tab or the Friends tab will show an overview of your friend.
The map will show the location of your friend limited to their privacy setting. If they're checked-in to a location then you will see the location of their check-in.
In the top left of the map you will see the friend's activity — walking, running, cycling or automotive.
This is an indication of when Orbit last received an update from your friend. Updates will be made when the friend moves significantly or when they run the app.
This indicates your current privacy setting with the friend. You can tap this to change the setting.
Privacy - Change the location privacy setting for your friend.
Add/Remove Favourite - Add or remove your friend as a favourite.
Unfriend - Remove the user as a friend.
Message - Send a message to your friend.
Meetup - Arrange a meet up with this friend.
Discover interesting people in your area.
Before being able to view other people in your area and at the places you check-in to you must also become discoverable. When you become discoverable you will need to connect a Facebook account if you haven't already. This helps verify your identity.
When you become discoverable you will need to review your public profile. Complete your profile to present who you are to those around you. For more information on your profile, see the profile section.
From the Discover tab you will be able to view the profiles of people around you. People are ordered by their 'Gravity', not by their distance.
Gravity is a number that represents the things you have in common with another person. The higher the number, the more you have in common.
Messaging Public Profiles
You can send 1 message to a public profile. If they respond then you will be able to continue messaging without restriction.
The messaging tab allows you to send and receive messages to and from other users. Messages to public users (who are not friends) are restricted to 1 message until they respond. Once they respond you can message them without restriction.
Checking in to a place will share your location with your friends. If you check-out of the location you will no longer appear at that location.
If you're discoverable then you will be able to see other people also checked-in to that place. In addition, your public profile will be made visible to others whilst you're there.
When you leave a place you will be automatically checked-out. You can also manually check-out of a place by tapping the 'Check-in' button in the tab bar and tapping the cross alongside the place you're checked-in to.
Meetups allow you to temporarily share your precise location with one or more friends. This makes it easy to meetup with each other and see where your friends are.
A meetup has an optional meeting point, start time, end time and activity icon. During a meetup you will be able to see the live location of each guest who has joined the meetup.
Creating a Meetup
You can create a meetup when viewing a friend's profile or by tapping the '+' icon in the top right of the navigation bar on the 'Nearby' and 'Friends' tab.
Once you have created a meetup invitation notifications will be sent to each of your friends to join the meetup.
Note: We recommend keeping meetups as short as necessary. Sharing live locations is more battery intensive.
Editing and Cancelling a Meetup
As the 'Host' of a meetup you will be able to invite others, edit a meetup and cancel the meetup. You can do this from the '•••' (more) icon in the navigation bar of the meetup.
Joining a Meetup
If you receive an invitation to join a meetup, you will have the options to accept or dismiss an invitation. You can review your meet up requests from the 'Friends' tab and from the 'Meetup' section in 'Settings'.
If you dismiss a meet up from the 'Friends' tab, you can join it later from the 'Meetup' section in 'Settings'.
Only when you accept a meetup will your live location be shared when the meetup starts. If you do not join a meetup then your location will not be shared and you won't be able to see the live locations of others.
Leaving a Meetup
You can leave a meetup at anytime. Just tap the '•••' (more) icon in the navigation bar at the top of a meetup. When you leave a meetup your live location will stop being shared and you won't be able to see the locations of others.
Your profile is visible to friends and the public. Public profiles will never show your last name.
We recommend completing your profile as much as possible to best convey your personality and interests.
You can connect social accounts to link to your social profiles, to extend your shared interests and to display content.
By default your shared likes will display on your profile and you have the option of showing a link to your Facebook profile.
By connecting your Twitter account you will display your shared follows (people who you both follow) on your profile and you have the option of showing a link to your Twitter profile.
By connecting your Instagram account you will show your 9 latest photos and you have the option of showing a link to your Instagram profile.
By connecting your LinkedIn account you will show a link to your LinkedIn profile.
Social Login Accounts
You can use Facebook and/or Twitter to login to Orbit instead of an email address and password. A tick will show alongside accounts that are connected. To disconnect a connected account, simply tap on the relevant account.
Updating Email Address
You can update your email address from the account settings.
You can logout of your account from the account settings.
You can delete your account from the account settings. Once you have deleted your account this cannot be reinstated.
Please search this page to ensure your request hasn't already been answered. Still having problems? Get in touch below.